Polaris Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Mostly Harmless
2,544 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still very new to jumping. I can do it a little, but it's still pretty unnerving. I read the article on jumping in the newest Dirt Wheels, and while it made sense, it didn't really tell me much.

Anybody have any good tips for beginning jumpers?

Rob

·
Registered
315 Posts
Stand(crouch) before takeoff---if you stay seated you could get bucked into the air.

Try and hit the takeoff square---this way you dont have to worry about side to side, just back to front landing.

Land with the rear wheels just before the front---much smoother ladning.

To correct nosedive--use throttle.

To correct cloudgazing--use rear brake.

If you use the brake in the air---clutch it so it doesnt stall upon landing.

Some ppl like to just gas through the jump but depending on the size of the jump i tend to blip the throttle in mid-air and again as i land.

Like Red said the only way to get better is to practice. Relaxation is the key.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Keep a steady throttle as you launch off the face of the jump.
If you gas it going off the lip you will end up nose high.
If you let off the gas as you go off the lip you will end up nose down in the air.
Keep your eyes on where your going not where your landing .... In other words look ahead up the trail or whatever. If its over 30' land with the gas on a bit to minimize "g" out.
Practice on table tops before going to doubles.
Follow a rider you've seen clear the double to get a feel for the speed it takes to clear it.
Keep your Medical Ins. current.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Nice one Tres! "Keep your Medical Ins. current." LOL

·
Mostly Harmless
2,544 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Hope so! I'll post a new thread in the Dunes area when we're headed back out there again.

Rob

·
Registered
1,206 Posts