Polaris Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
293 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have any of you guys found out how to install a togle switch on the bike so when you loose your key you can flip the switch to ride? I'm a manufacturing engineer and know that it will take a five position (prong) switch, one for each wire running to the stock keyed switch, but don't know where the wires go and what's what. You can't simple place a switch for the ignition as you will want lights.

·
Registered
2,923 Posts
Just call up your dealer and they will prolly need the VIN number...my dealer told me they do this when people haven stolen quads before and then they will call the dealer trying to get keys.

·
Premium Member
3,009 Posts
I think that he is trying to loose the key switch all together!!

Seeing how the key switch is a simple on/off device it should not be too hard to wire up, get yourself of a wiring diagram and have a look at it!

·
Registered
57 Posts
the two out side wires in the harness

·
Registered
293 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I lost the first key when I gave the thing to my wife to hold at a party (so no one would ride the bike). I'll be dam$ed if I pay $50 for another one. So I'll call the dealership.

Thanks everyone.

·
Registered
57 Posts
the two red wires in the harness just unplug it from the ignition and you can run a jumper between them they are the outside wires.

·
Registered
229 Posts
Ya, I flipped mine and busted the ignition switch all up when I first got my preddy. Took the wire out of the harness, trial and error, figured out which two it was and rode like that for like a month. I finally bought a new ignition switch from the dealership, no questions asked.

Sean

·
Registered
525 Posts
JJ I have had extra keys made before on some of my machs. A lock-smith has made them for $10 to $12 bucks.

later

·
Registered
293 Posts
Discussion Starter #10