Polaris Riders Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2006 Scrambler 500 4X4

Can I use regular oil in the engine? Like Regular Mobil 1 auto oil?

How about the Tranny? What's the best oil?

How about the front gear case? What's the best oil?

·
Registered
227 Posts
i wouldnt use regular auto oil, id stick with atv oil, the only oil i have found to match polaris weight is Spectro atv/snowmobile Platinum 4 , and amsoil atv/snow. The gear case is 80-90 i believe

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was thinking "Mobil Clean 5000 10W-40" Pretty close in weight...

Is there something else I need to worry about besides weight?

·
Premium Member
7,633 Posts
Shouldn't have a wet clutch, so it should be fine.....

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah, Tranny and Engine do NOT share oil... and no clutch...

THANKS!

·
Premium Member
7,633 Posts
I'm no expert here, so maybe wait for someone thats more experienced with these quads.

·
Premium Member
1,803 Posts
I use the Rotella in my Scrambler golf cart. Works just fine. Any oil will work as long as it has similar weights.

The gear case I used the 80w-90. I think Polaris recommends chaincase oil.

The front gearcase should be the same as the transmission since it doesn't have the 4wd activating parts in it (still in the hubs in 06).

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
So, is the transmission just a gear case? Very similar to the front gear case... I was kinda thinking like a car tranny but I guess the tranny on the scambler is really the belt, pulleys, clutch, etc...

"since it doesn't have the 4wd activating parts in it (still in the hubs in 06)."
Does this mean the gear case is ALWAYS turning? So, even is not in 4WD mode...

·
Premium Member
1,803 Posts